Gary Wright IIGary Wright II - ]    [ The Wright Perspective Blog ]    [ The Wright Perspective Blog 2010 Archives ]  → 

The Wright Perspective℠

Social Commentary from the C-Suite to Main Street℠

A Blog by Gary Wright II

Senate votes against working on the 2011 Defense Authorization Act

Thursday, December 9th, 2010

Senate voted 57 to 40 to not proceed with debate on the National Defense Act which includes the repeal of Don't Ask, Don't Tell> policy.

The bill has already been passed in the House of Representatives, but in the Senate the Cloture on the Motion to Proceed failed with only 57 votes. In order to debate or start working on the issue, they are required to reach at least 60 votes.

National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2011 authorizes appropriations for fiscal year 2011 for military activities of the Department of Defense, for military construction, and for defense activities of the Department of Energy, to prescribe military personnel strengths for such fiscal year, and for other purposes.

When we have troops deployed around the world - we damn sure better take good care of them! If we can't afford to support the military, then bring the troops home. Another priority should be taking better care of our current veterans.

The repeal of "Don't Ask, Don't Tell" was also part of the Defense Act. Two federal courts have ruled the policy to be a violation of the US Constitution. The duty of Congress is to bring a policy into compliance with the law and principles of the US Constitution.

YEA = 57 Votes (60 votes were needed to proceed)

Akaka (Democrat from HI)
Baucus (Democrat from MT)
Bayh (Democrat from IN)
Begich (Democrat from AK)
Bennet (Democrat from CO)
Bingaman (Democrat from NM)
Boxer (Democrat from CA)
Brown (Democrat from OH)
Cantwell (Democrat from WA)
Cardin (Democrat from MD)
Carper (Democrat from DE)
Casey (Democrat from PA)
Collins (Republican from ME)
Conrad (Democrat from ND)
Coons (Democrat from DE)
Dodd (Democrat from CT)
Dorgan (Democrat from ND)
Durbin (Democrat from IL)
Feingold (Democrat from WI)
Feinstein (Democrat from CA)
Franken (Democrat from MN)
Gillibrand (Democrat from NY)
Hagan (Democrat from NC)
Harkin (Democrat from IA)
Inouye (Democrat from HI)
Johnson (Democrat from SD)
Kerry (Democrat from MA)
Klobuchar (Democrat from MN)
Kohl (Democrat from WI)
Landrieu (Democrat from LA)
Lautenberg (Democrat from NJ)
Leahy (Democrat from VT)
Levin (Democrat from MI)
Lieberman (Independent from CT)
McCaskill (Democrat from MO)
Menendez (Democrat from NJ)
Merkley (Democrat from OR)
Mikulski (Democrat from MD)
Murray (Democrat from WA)
Nelson (Democrat from FL)
Nelson (Democrat from NE)
Pryor (Democrat from AR)
Reed (Democrat from RI)
Reid (Democrat from NV)
Rockefeller (Democrat from WV)
Sanders (Independent from VT)
Schumer (Democrat from NY)
Shaheen (Democrat from NH)
Specter (Democrat from PA)
Stabenow (Democrat from MI)
Tester (Democrat from MT)
Udall (Democrat from CO)
Udall (Democrat from NM)
Warner (Democrat from VA)
Webb (Democrat from VA)
Whitehouse (Democrat from RI)
Wyden (Democrat from OR)

NAY = 40 votes

Alexander (Republican from TN)
Barrasso (Republican from WY)
Bennett (Republican from UT)
Bond (Republican from MO)
Brown (Republican from MA)
Bunning (Republican from KY)
Burr (Republican from NC)
Chambliss (Republican from GA)
Coburn (Republican from OK)
Cochran (Republican from MS)
Corker (Republican from TN)
Crapo (Republican from ID)
DeMint (Republican from SC)
Ensign (Republican from NV)
Enzi (Republican from WY)
Graham (Republican from SC)
Grassley (Republican from IA)
Gregg (Republican from NH)
Hatch (Republican from UT)
Hutchison (Republican from TX)
Inhofe (Republican from OK)
Isakson (Republican from GA)
Johanns (Republican from NE)
Kirk (Republican from IL)
Kyl (Republican from AZ)
LeMieux (Republican from FL)
Lugar (Republican from IN)
Manchin (Democrat from WV)
McCain (Republican from AZ)
McConnell (Republican from KY)
Murkowski (Republican from AK)
Risch (Republican from ID)
Roberts (Republican from KS)
Sessions (Republican from AL)
Shelby (Republican from AL)
Snowe (Republican from ME)
Thune (Republican from SD)
Vitter (Republican from LA)
Voinovich (Republican from OH)
Wicker (Republican from MS)

Not Voting = 3

Brownback (Republican from KS)
Cornyn (Republican from TX)
Lincoln (Democrat from AR)

President Obama expressed his disappointment in a statement: "As commander in chief, I have pledged to repeal this discriminatory law, a step supported by the secretary of defense and the chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff... A great majority of the American people agree. This law weakens our national security, diminishes our military readiness and violates fundamental American principles of fairness, integrity and equality."

A Mission: Not Accomplished rally in Washington, D.C. will be held at noon on Friday, December 10th, 2010. For more information visit the Servicemembers Legal Defense Network at:

If you can't attend the protest in DC - please call your Senator and tell them to do their job supporting our military! You can also email your Senator through their web site at

Best regards,

-- Gary Wright II

To Senators who voted NO:

I'm deeply disappointed you have failed to support the repeal of "Don't Ask, Don't Tell."

The courts have ruled the policy violates our Constitution. It is time for you to do your job to bring the policy into compliance with the Constitution.

History will record this moment forever - Will you be standing with me on the right side of history?

Your constituent,

-- Gary Wright II

To Senators who voted YES:

Thanks for your support for the repeal of "Don't Ask, Don't Tell."

The courts have ruled the policy violates our Constitution. It is now time for Congress to bring the policy into compliance with the Constitution.

History will record this moment forever. I hope to see you standing with me on the right side of history.

Your constituent,

-- Gary Wright II

Return to Blog Index